• On-Site Registration Opens:
    30 November 2008

  • Awards Luncheon:
    1 December 2008

  • Exhibit Opening & 
    Welcome Reception:
    1 December 2008





Win Prizes
T12: Network Coding and its Applications in Communication Networks

Presenter: Alex Sprintson, Texas A&M University


The tutorial will provide basic and in-depth knowledge of the rapidly evolving area of network coding. Network coding generalizes network operation beyond the traditional forwarding or replication of information, allowing network nodes to perform coding operations on information from different streams. Network coding is a novel research area that has a great potential in benefiting many areas of networking and distributed systems. In addition, network coding can be utilized for improving system survivability and resilience to errors. The tutorial will cover a large spectrum of possible application of network coding in areas such as wireless networks, network storage and sensor networks. We will summarize the resent results and potential benefits of network coding that have been demonstrated in various aspects of networking. We will focus on the algorithmic aspects of finding efficient network codes, covering both deterministic and randomized techniques. We will also discuss open problems and directions for future research.


Alex Sprintson is an assistant professor in the department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at Texas A&M University. He received his B.Sc. degree (summa cum laude), M.Sc. and Ph.D. degrees in Electrical Engineering from the Technion - Israel Institute of Technology, Haifa, Israel, in 1995, 2001 and 2003, respectively. During the summers of 2002 and 2003 he was with the Internet Management Research Department at Bell Laboratories, Murray Hill, NJ. From 2003 to 2005 he was a postdoctoral research fellow at the California Institute of Technology. His research interests lie in the general area of communication networks with a focus on network survivability, QoS routing, and network coding. Current honors include having received the Wolf Award for Distinguished Ph.D. students and the Viterbi Postdoctoral Fellowship. He was a member of the Technical Program Committee for IEEE Infocom 2006-2009